top of page


The D.C. Francophonie Cultural Festival celebrates the diversity and richness of the French language and Francophone communities around the world through a series of cultural events and outreach programs presented every spring in the capital of the United States. 

Since 2001, more than 40 embassies and partners (including the Alliance Française de Washington DC and the Smithsonian Associates) have collaborated each year to present an array of experiences all rooted in the Francophone culture -- from Africa, to the Americas, to the Middle East -- through concerts, cuisine, films, literary salons, and lectures for all ages. 

International Organization of Francophoie Map


L'Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (OIF) represents one of the biggest linguistic zones in the world.  Its members share more than just a common language; they share the humanist values promoted by the French language. The French language and its humanist values represent the two cornerstones on which the OIF is based. 

The International Organization of la Francophonie was created in 1970 with the mission to embody the active solidarity between its 88 member states and governments which together represent over one-third of the United Nation's member states and account for a population of over 1.2 billion people, including +300 million French speakers.

64 Member and Associate Member States and Governments

Albania, Principality of Andorra, Armenia, Kingdom of Belgium, French Community of Belgium, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canada-New-Brunswick, Canada-Québec, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kosovo, Laos, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Niger, New-Caledonia, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Wallonia-Brussels Federation

27 Observer States
Argentina, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Canada-Ontario, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Gambia, Georgia, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Louisiana, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Thailand, Ukraine, Uruguay

bottom of page