About Francophonie


The D.C. Francophonie Cultural Festival celebrates the diversity and richness of the French language and francophone communities around the world through a series of cultural events and outreach programs presented every spring in the U.S. capital region. Celebrating the creative artistry of the French-speaking world, the Francophonie Cultural Festival is a voyage of exploration, discovery, and cultural sharing that highlights the diversity of the French language and cultures.
Since 2001, more than 40 embassies and partners (including AFDC and The Smithsonian Associates) have collaborated each year to present an array of experiences all rooted in the Francophone culture — from Africa to the Americas to Asia to the Middle East–through concerts, cuisine, films, literary salons and lectures for all ages.


The International Organisation of La Francophonie represents one of the biggest linguistic zones in the world. Its members share more than just a common language. They also share the humanist values promoted by the French language. The French language and its humanist values represent the two cornerstones on which the International Organisation of La Francophonie is based.

The International Organisation of La Francophonie was created in 1970. Its mission is to embody the active solidarity between its 80 member states and governments (57 members and 23 observers), which together represent over one-third of the United Nations’ member states and account for a population of over 890 million people, including 220 million French speakers.

57 Member States and Governments:Albania, Principality of Andorra, Armenia, Kingdom of Belgium, French Community of Belgium, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canada-New-Brunswick, Canada-Quebec, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, , Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Laos, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Niger, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Säo Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Vietnam.
23 Observers:Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay.

For more information, please visit http://www.francophonie.org/


Image Description